Friday 8 March 2013

World Hurling Championship 1931

In a room in Thurles CBS stands a magnificent cup bearing the inscription:
Trophy presented by Major James J. Walker for World's Hurling Championship Ireland v. America 1931 
How this cup was won by Tipperary for Ireland is a glorious chapter in our hurling history and well worth recalling.

The team that travelled to America in 1931 was that which won the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship in 1930: J.J.Callanan (capt.), J.O'Loughlin, J.Maher, M.Ryan, J.Harney, J.Lanigan (Thurles); T.O'Meara, M.Kennedy (Toomevara); P.McKenna (Ballingarry); P.Purcell (Moycarkey); P.Cahill (Holycross); M.F.Cronin (Lorrha); T.Butler, T.Leahy (Boherlahan); T.Treacy (Templemore).

The party also included: M.McGann, J.Stapleton, T.Butler, T.Connolly (Thurles); J.McKenna (Ballingarry); Johnny Leahy (Manager); Rev. J.J.Meagher CC (Thurles), President of the County Board, and Rev. M.J.Lee DI. The tour was sponsored by Mr. Dan Breen TD who was in New York at the time.

The party sailed from Cobh on 8th September. On arrival in New York, the team and officials received a very enthusiastic welcome and were received by deputy Mayor McKee at the City Hall. In the course of their tour from East to West, they were feted everywhere they went.

The team played seven times—three in New York and one each in Boston, Detroit, Chicago and San Francisco. In the opening game in New York, Tipperary defeated a picked team representing the USA by ten points. The next game was in Boston before an attendance of 30,000 where Tipperary defeated a Massachusetts selection by 4-4 to 2-3. The second game in New York was attended by 20,000 which Tipp won by eight points. Tipperary continued their winning way in Detroit, Chicago and San Francisco, and climaxed a successful run by winning the magnificent Cup which was presented by the donor, Mayor Walker, to Vice-Captain, J.O'Loughlin at a farewell supper. A triumphant tour had ended.

No comments:

Post a Comment