Thursday 14 March 2013

GAA Championship Milestones

1921: Limerick, captained by Bob McConkey, beat Dublin in the hurling final in May to become the first winners of the Liam McCarthy cup.

1923: Mick Gill played in two finals with different teams inside a few months—and was on the winning team each time. He had a fine game for Galway as they beat Limerick on September 14, 1924 in the delayed hurling final of 1923 for the western county's first championship. Gill was then a Garda stationed in Dublin and played club hurling in the capital. But as he had earlier played with Galway in the long delayed 1923 series, he was eligible for the final. There was no declaration rule then and Gill lined out with Dublin in the 1924 final played on December 14. He had an outstanding game as the Dubs beat Galway. He became the only man to ever win two Senior All-Ireland hurling medals in the one year.

1928: Bill "Squires" Gannon led Kidare in their successful defence of the All-Ireland Senior Football title against Cavan in the final, and was later presented with the Sam Maguire Cup. This was the first time that the trophy was awarded to the winners of the championship.

1931: The only occasion that the All-Ireland senior final, in either hurling or football, went to a third meeting. Cork and Kilkenny played two draws before the Munster county came out on top in the concluding game by 5-8 to 3-4. The three games attracted an aggregate attendance of 91,519 and, in sharp contrast to today's prices, the receipts amounted to just £7,759.

No comments:

Post a Comment