Wednesday 20 March 2013

Tipperary GAA Milestones

W.J. Spain, a Nenagh man who never played for his native Tipperary, had the distinction of being the first person to win All-Ireland honours in both hurling and football. He helped Limerick Commercials to win the first ever All-Ireland Football title in 1887 and, two years later, he was a member of the Dublin Kickhams team that beat Clare in the 1889 All-Ireland Senior Hurling final.

1886: The first Tipperary County Board was set up in December at a convention held in Nenagh and attended principally by North delegates. The elected officers were: J.K. Bracken, Templemore (President); Pat Hocter, Nenagh (Vice-President); E.M. Walsh, Nenagh (secretary); and R.F. Maloney, Nenagh (Treasurer). On the committee were: Pat O'Brien, Nenagh; Hugh Ryan, Thurles; John Cullinane, Bansha; and John Hackett, Fethard.

The North Tipperary Board was formed on June 30th 1901. The elected officers were: Ned Keeshan, Roscrea (President); John Spain, Roscrea (Secretary); and Michael Kelly, Nenagh (Treasurer).

The South Tipperary Board was formed in 1907. The elected officers were: James Meehan, Clonmel (Chairman); Martin Brennan (Secretary); and Bob Quane (Treasurer).

The Mid Tipperary Board was also formed in 1907. The first officials were: John Cahill, Cashel (Chairman), Andy Mason (Secretary); and Mickey Maher, Tubberadora (Treasurer).

The West Tipperary Board is the babe of the divisions, having been formed only in 1930. It's first officers were: Rev. J. Maloney, Clonulty (President); William O'Dwyer, MCC (Chairman); Tim Gleeson and Sean Stapleton, Solohead (Vice-Chairmen); D.B. English, Rossmore (Secretary); William O'Dwyer and N.T. Donaskeigh (Joint Treasurers).

No comments:

Post a Comment