Tuesday 2 September 2014

In the Burren Country

In the beautiful Burren country of County Clare as you travel north from Limerick to Galway, you come upon the birthplace of Michael Cusack at Moughney, about a mile from Carron. He, with Maurice Davin of Deerpark, Carrick-on-Suir, called the historic meeting at Hayes Hotel, Thurles on 1 Nov 1884 that saw the founding of the Gaelic Athletic Association, the ruling body over the games of Hurling and Gaelic Football. On 18 December 1884, Dr. Croke, Archbishop of Cashel, gave the Association his benediction in a famous letter that was to become known as "The Chapter of the GAA".

The first official All-Ireland Championship final was played on Easter Sunday, 1 April 1888. It was the final of the 1887 championship and Tipperary (Thurles), under the captaincy of Jim Stapleton, said to be a man of powerful physique, beat Galway (Meelick) at Birr.

The Liam McCarthy trophy, which goes to the winners of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship, was presented for the first time in 1921 and Limerick, under the captaincy of Bob McConkey, were the first team to inscribe their name on it.

No comments:

Post a Comment