Monday 30 December 2013

Hurling Bits in Brief

Jamesy O'Connor, outstanding forward on the Clare senior hurling team in the 1990's and 2000's, was also captain of the St. Flannan's College team that won the 1990 Dr. Harty Cup (Munster Colleges Senior "A" Hurling Championship). The team panel also included his brother Christy, Liam Meaney (who later played for Cork), Stephen Sheedy, Billy Woods, Andrew Whelan and Stephen McNamara (who also played with the Clare senior hurlers during that time and was a grand-son of the late Jackie Power, the great Ahane and Limerick hurler, who won All-Ireland Senior Hurling medals with his county in 1936 and 1940).

Fergal Ryan, who played on the Cork senior hurling team for a number of years following his debut in 1999, was a nephew of former Cork and Munster hurler, Terry Kelly. Terry won an All-Ireland minor hurling medal with Cork in 1951, a team captained by Johnny Clifford. He played for Cork in the 1956 All-Ireland Senior Hurling final, won by Wexford, and also won Railway Cup medals with Munster.

The late Dr. Bill Loughnane from Feakle, Co.Clare, was at full forward on the Dublin team that defeated Waterford in the 1938 All-Ireland Senior Hurling final. Also playing for Dublin was Rathdowney native, Harry Gray, who played with Laois in the 1949 All-Ireland Senior Hurling final won by Tipperary. Playing for Waterford in the 1938 final was John Keane, who won an All-Ireland Senior Hurling medal with his county in 1948.

No comments:

Post a Comment