Thursday 13 June 2013

1932: Opening of Davin Park

The Maurice Davin Memorial Park, Carrick-on-Suir was officially opened by Munster Council Chairman W.P. Clifford on Sunday August 7th 1932.

Among those present for that historic occasion were:-

Rev. J.J.Meagher, Chairman Tipperary Co. Board GAA;
Johnny Leahy, Sec. Tipperary Co. Board GAA;
Rev. Fr. M.J. Lee, Thurles;
Pat Davin, brother of Maurice;
and the renowned athlete, Tom Kiely.

In his address, Mr. Clifford said that the Park was a fitting memorial in the most appropriate form to the famous Tipperary athlete whose genius brought the Gaelic Athletic Association into being.

The Munster Council gave due recognition to the occasion by staging the Munster Senior Football Final between Kerry and Tipperary as the opening game. Even with home advantage, however, the Tipperary team could never come to grips with a rampant Kerry and having trailed by 2-5 to 0-3 at the break, Tipperary went under finally by 3-10 to 1-4.

Both All-Ireland football semi-finals were played at Croke Park on 21st August when Mayo beat Cavan by 2-4 to 0-8 and Kerry beat Dublin by 1-3 to 1-1. The All-Ireland final was played at Croke Park on September 25th when Kerry beat Mayo by 2-7 to 2-4.

The first Directors of Davin Park were:- Richard Cleary, T.F. Kiely, Jerry Shelly, John Keating, Denis O'Driscoll, Wm. Morrissey, Dick Walsh, James McCormack and John Higgins.

No comments:

Post a Comment