Monday 23 March 2015

Summer Time

In Ireland and the UK, Summer Time begins at 2am on Sunday 29th of March 2015 when all clocks are put forward one hour. It was first suggested by Benjamin Franklin (1706-90). The Waste of Daylight movement was founded in London in 1908 by William Willett (1856-1915) and a Daylight Saving Act was passed by Parliament in 1916 as a measure in the First World War.

During the Second World War, on 4th of May 1941, Double Summer Time (which advanced the clocks by two hours) was introduced for four months every year until 15th of July 1945; and again from 13th of April to the 13th of August 1947 in order to save fuel.

No comments:

Post a Comment